The Structure


The AES includes the PFNs, the Local Education Authorities, the Regional Education Councils, and the Kinoomaadziwin Education Body.

Local Education Authorities

Each PFN has law-making power and authority over education from JK to Grade 12 on-reserve and may set-up a Local Education Authority (education board or committee) to support and manage education programs and services at the community level.

Regional Education Councils

Each PFN belongs to one Regional Education Councils (REC). The REC provides opportunities for networking, for determining First Nation and regional education priorities, and to select the Kinoomaadziwin Education Body Board of Directors from that region.

The Kinoomaadziwin Education Body (KEB)

PFNs will work together through a central administrative structure called the Kinoomaadziwin Education Body (KEB). The KEB will take direction from the PFNs. The KEB will support First Nations in their delivery of education programs and services and liaise with the Province of Ontario on education matters.